christianity
Comments 5

Feeling Unqualified?

Welcome to the club.

If you’ve ever wondered if you’re qualified to spread the love of God and to tell people about Jesus, then you’re in good company. Despite writing this blog and thinking of many ways of expanding the work that I do here after graduation, there have been many times when I’ve wondered if I’m the best person to talk about God and to share the love of Jesus.

The one big problem that I face is that I don’t even understand the love of God and the grace that Jesus gives and the fellowship of the Holy Spirit. Growing up as a christian meant that I experienced God at a very tender age, but it also meant that I got a lot of information that perhaps wasn’t the best. It was kind of a weeds in the garden situation and I became very legalistic in my thinking of God: you do this, God blesses you. You give that, God provides here.

Don’t get me wrong, God’s relationship with us remains a covenant and there are terms to every covenant. But the only difference is that His is an unequally yoked covenant, because He does the majority of the work. In fact, all the work has been done for us. We simply get to accept the love and surrender to it. Literally, you surrender to God and go to sleep. His Spirit prompts you, He leads you, He guides you and He directs you. You surrender, you conquer.

God has loved us with an everlasting love, sent His Son to die for us, and His son Jesus sent the Holy Spirit to be our companion through life on earth. The only part we have to play in this whole deal is to submit to God.

I’m currently reading a book called Communion with God by John Owen. It’s a vintage classic so it’s written in very old english, which has been a bit of a challenge. It’s also been a blessing because I’m a fast reader so reading these challenging words has forced me to slow down and re-read passages as many times as I need to understand them.

After talking about the messages of faith that have been ambushing me on all sides, I read a portion of Communion with God before going to bed. The book talks about the persons of the trinity and how their uniqueness enables us have a richer relationship with each of them and with the whole. You enjoy the parts and that enables you enjoy the whole. You bask in the Father’s love, enjoy the Son’s grace, and communion with the Spirit. It’s helping me to understand the love of God and all that is in store for me as a Christian.

In those moments when I feel unsure of God’s calling on my life in this season and for the future, God’s love comforts me. Even if I had nothing else to say to you all about anything, I could tell you of His love for days and days. The Holy Spirit is leading me to books and sermons and Godly conversations that are opening my mind and separating some of the incorrect or incomplete doctrines that I had internalized.

I talk about the things that I’m learning so that you feel less alone. So that when you’re confused about walking in faith and in purpose, you can look at the little unqualified Alheri and believe that you can do it too.

God’s love is so vast and so big that we cannot even fathom it.

Rejoice that there’s a book in heaven that has your name as well as the name of the best christian you think there is. It doesn’t matter if that person fasts everyday and speaks only in tongues, what matters is that your name is in that book just as their name is there.

Rejoice in that and rest in it. Remember that God doesn’t call those who are qualified but He qualifies those He calls. When you get into trouble, He will provide the way out, when you need to provide an answer, He will provide the words for you.

Do your best, learn as much as you can, but also rest in God. Rest and delight in Him. The journey is as important as the destination.


I included the book in this post because I strongly believe that it will be a blessing to anyone who reads it. It’s not a paid advert guys, I’m not on that level… yet. Haha.

This entry was posted in: christianity

by

Hey, my name is Alheri and I'm obsessed with Jesus. This blog is me keeping my promise to Him for answering a prayer. Purple is my favorite color and my favorite scripture is Jeremiah 32:27 which says "Behold, I am the Lord, the God of all flesh: is there anything too hard for me?" (KJV) You can contact me at msalheri@gmail.com

5 Comments

  1. You have shared one of my favorite songs!!!!! I love this post.
    I once had a friend tell me that God does not call the equipped….He equips the called. Alheri my friend….you are called :).

    Like

  2. Pingback: No Longer Slaves // Jonathan David & Melissa Helser – Soulja 4 Christ

Your turn! What do you think?