Day: October 19, 2015

What if? (Some thoughts on Houses in Banana Island, well not really, but yeah!)

What if, true to all our claims, we dropped everything at the foot of the cross? What if we really trusted God to take away all our pain, and brokenness, and insecurities? As I ate breakfast this morning, I thought about Linda Ikeji– the Nigerian blogger who has recently acquired a luxury home for upwards of $3million. On her blog yesterday, she wrote about her very humble beginnings and how she her blogging passion has made her a homeowner in one of Nigeria’s most priced neighbourhoods. That made me think about my life and sadly, my thoughts were mostly pessimistic, depressing, and sad. Yesterday I spoke with a friend who told me her MCAT scores weren’t as high as she would have liked. While trying to encourage her, I humorously reminded her that Linda Ikeji did not change her life’s passion, but doggedly followed through, and is now living a life that existed in her dreams. I mentioned that Linda Ikeji did not desert her metaphorical Medical School dreams, but followed through up till her …